• Welcome to The Forum for Gauge 3 Model Trains.

The Gauge 3 Society       2.1/2 inch Gauge Association       Cookies and privacy HOW TO JOIN: to request forum membership please click here

Gauge 3 Society members must be logged in to view the Society section
  G3 Clubroom

Welcome to the G3 Clubroom. This is the friendly online forum where members share ideas and inspiration, suggestions and advice, modelling tips, pictures and drawings, and general chat about our fine hobby of Gauge 3 railway modelling. A warm welcome, and enjoy your visit here today.

Bespoke cast iron wheels

Started by MikeWilliams, Nov 12 2019 11:36

« previous - next »

MikeWilliams

Just stumbled across these people on ebay of all places

https://www.owlcastings.co.uk/

They make bespoke wheel castings.  You supply the drawings, they do the CAD, print the wheel and do the casting too.  I have no connection or experience of the firm whatsoever, but they sound like an interesting one stop shop.

Mike

John Branch

If the cast wheels come out looking anything like those masters, it should make the final machining   and finishing somewhat easier.  (not that I've ever attempted it!).  here's a thought-is there a  material that could be put through a printer that would result in finished useable wheels?  Not for live steam, I would guess, butt for lightly loaded coaches and trucks?

John

MikeWilliams

It depends what you expect from them I guess John and how much you are prepared to be a Guinea Pig.  David Viewing prints all his Gauge 1 wheels in white nylon and runs them just like that - no turning, no separate tyres, nothing.  They perform just fine, but would I use them ... err, no.  But then I'm a luddite and prefer cast iron whenever possible!

Mike

IanT