• Welcome to The Forum for Gauge 3 Model Trains.

The Gauge 3 Society       2.1/2 inch Gauge Association       Cookies and privacy HOW TO JOIN: to request forum membership please click here

Gauge 3 Society members must be logged in to view the Society section
  G3 Clubroom

Welcome to the G3 Clubroom. This is the friendly online forum where members share ideas and inspiration, suggestions and advice, modelling tips, pictures and drawings, and general chat about our fine hobby of Gauge 3 railway modelling. A warm welcome, and enjoy your visit here today.

Help with Pointwork

Started by keith Bristol, Dec 20 2009 17:08

« previous - next »

keith Bristol

All

This is a request for Help. i am about to purchase some 12ft point work kits from Cliff Barker, but I have no experience of putting them together. Is there anyone in the the general area of Birmingham to cornwall to edge of london who is experienced at this and has a saturday/sunday free in teh New Year who would be prepared to show get me started if I travelled to them?

Keith Bristol

Moonraker

Keith,

I have made four of these points but I guess that South Australia is a little out of your specifierd area.

The main thing I wanted to mention is that there was a fault with these kits. The plan was correct lengthwise but was too small widthwise; an error appeared to have been made in its enlargement to full size. I stuffed up the first point before I released that the problem was the plan and not me. Cliff may have fixed this by now but you should check.

Peter
Peter Lucas

Andy B

Keith,

Which aspect of the construction is it that you are unsure about - the sequence and positioning of the components or specific techniques for using / bonding Cliff's parts?

There are many articles & web pages covering point construction in other scales, but the sequence is the same.
Let me know if links / copies would be of use.

Andy

keith Bristol