• Welcome to The Forum for Gauge 3 Model Trains.

The Gauge 3 Society       2.1/2 inch Gauge Association       Cookies and privacy HOW TO JOIN: to request forum membership please click here

Gauge 3 Society members must be logged in to view the Society section
  G3 Clubroom

Welcome to the G3 Clubroom. This is the friendly online forum where members share ideas and inspiration, suggestions and advice, modelling tips, pictures and drawings, and general chat about our fine hobby of Gauge 3 railway modelling. A warm welcome, and enjoy your visit here today.

Feedback Control - How?

Started by Peaky 556, Apr 30 2013 13:19

« previous - next »

Peaky 556

As a total novice with modern R/C systems, I don't know what is possible or available, but I know what I need!  As a mechanical engineer I am aware that control systems can be complex and need to avoid oscillations/resonance etc when trying to use feedback from an output to control an input.
The scenario is speed control.  My application involves internal combustion engines with a servo on the throttle, but it could equally well be a live steamer with a servo on the regulator.  The difference may be the lack of system inertia with mine, as a small throttle opening can result in a large and rapid increase in speed, unlike in a steamer when it may take tens of seconds or minutes even for the loco and train to gather speed.
The question is, how does one use a speed related signal to feedback to the servo and cause an adjustment to be made, with the aim of maintaining a constant speed?
My output could most easily be a DC signal voltage rising in proportion to rotation speed.  There would be a need to adjust speed from the transmitter, so the action of opening the TX 'throttle' would need to allow a higher, but regulated, speed.  Likewise backing off the TX throttle would need to progressively close te engine's throttle servo until a new and lower speed equilibrium is reached.